agenda   !top [???]   !pb 24h   S0 S2 GTI   S1  S2  GTI   !ex   !lp

Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ]
Offline Nivoglibina
Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:37 pm Post 
I'm a recently returned-to-LFS newbie. Right now I'm capable of turning in decent laps with one car on one track.

Looking through the online hosts, the Cargame server S2 looks very appealing with more drivers, changing tracks and multiple car types allowed.
So I started looking into what I had to do to be able to race here. Having raced a lot on AA Demo Blackwood servers I have picked up a good safety rating and some other statistics. I thought this would help me.

To my surprise however, the cargame server does not pick up on that, or it counts racing on Cargameserver S1 only?
"No big deal, I'll race on Cargame S1 then."
Started doing that today, but it looks like the gathering of points is very slow if there's no other people around. Add to this that as a newbie learning all those tracks at once is tricky too. It felt like a job instead of having fun.
Sure I want to put in effort, but instead of driving solo on an empy server I could also choose go back to "Demo" servers and have fun.
The alternative was racing on a populated S2 server in a slow car. That was fun for a while but getting out of the way of the faster cars all the time doesnt really allow you to hone your skills, and you run the risk of hindering others.

If you lack fresh faces to race with, I think this might be one of the reasons?

Offline Brillemonster
Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:45 pm Post 
Drive on S1, and on track change: choose the oval. Do some races with a car, improve your laptimes, stay on track, and your experience rating will raise pretty quick.
Otherwise you can join the S2-server, and drive the slower cars, do clean races and improve laptimes. Even then your experience will rise pretty quick.

All together: You will have to drive slower cars, or alone, and improve your experience. Everyone had to do that once.

Offline pringles